FAQ

PROGRAM APPLICATION BASICS

哪一类初创企业最适合申请进入 Bits x Bites 加速器呢?

以硬件、软件、互联网及生物科技为核心技术的食品科技类初创团队。同时生产预包装食品的初创团队也是我们的目标。想要了解现有一些食品科技初创团队的分类,请点击这里。请记得这些仅仅是现在比较常见的类型,我们十分希望能看到在不久的将来,会有初创企业出现在我们现在所定义的领域范围之外。

Bits x Bites 在寻找哪些阶段的创业公司?

一个很棒的想法和一群志同道合的朋友就可以会成为我们招募对象。同时,我们也欢迎那些已经运营一段时间,正在寻找一个新突破点的团队。

有多少团队会被选中?

大约5个团队

加速器项目的时间规划?

我们的加速器项目每年有两期,第一期项目将在2017年2月20日正式启动,并在2017年6月底举办Demo day。

项目在哪里进行?

中国上海

我的团队不在上海,可以申请吗?

可以,我们鼓励来自各个国家、不同背景的团队申请加速器项目。项目期间,我们对核心团队的工作地点没有要求,但会强烈建议留在上海。因为除了你们每周都能够和创业导师进行交流之外,还能参与我们多元而充满活力的社群,从出色的企业家、行业专家和各界朋友处获益。外国的申请者需要自行安排签证,但是我们会帮助你对接合适的专业机构。

对申请团队的评估流程是什么样的?

先提交的申请将会优先得到审核,审核后,只有部分团队会被邀请参与面谈或视频通话。最终被选入加速器项目的团队将于申请截止日期后几周后公布。

我申请表中的信息会是否会被当作机密信息处理?

你的申请表是为了加入Bits x Bites 的宣传资料,不应该包括任何机密信息。请不要上传任何正式的商业计划书、交易秘密,或者是相关产品专利属性的一些信息。所有通过申请表上传到 Bits x Bites 的信息都会被认为是对外公开的非机密性信息。我们将会严格保护那些和我们签署过保密协议的信息。

项目期间,Bits x Bites 是否会拥有我们团队研发的知识产权?

不会。知识产权只属于研发的初创团队。

我要如何申请?

请点击这里.

PROGRAM DETAILS

你们是否会提供资金?你们的融资条款是什么?

是的,我们会采用“1+1”的融资机制。在一开始参与项目时你就会收到一笔启动资金,在最后 Demo day 后如果你成功吸引到其他投资人,那么你会从我们这里得到另外一笔资金。

“1+1”取得的融资将不会占超过初创企业15%的股份。

你们会提供生活费吗?

不,我们不会提供额外的生活费。

在加速器项目期间你们会使用何种语言?

英语和中文。

我需要向我的创业导师支付任何资费吗?

不用。创业导师都是一群对食品科技非常感兴趣并且想要帮助别人、创造积极影响的人。但同时他们也是会忙于自己的创业团队、突破性科技的研究,或者是管理一个跨国品牌。如果你觉得你的导师在项目期间给你提供了非常宝贵的价值,你可能会想要以一个更加正式、有资金补偿的方式来让导师更好地融入你的公司。我们会帮助你们对接,但是最终决定取决于你们双方。

导师和初创团队将如何配对?

会根据双方所需开展配对。我们花费了很长时间去了解我们所有的创业导师,了解他们的工作、专长和热情所在。同时我们也投入了很多精力去了解你和你的企业。创业导师对于初创团队来说有巨大的潜在价值,我们深知有效的配对可以让初创团队在未来很长的一段时间里收益。基于不同的需求和时间要求,我们会为你推荐合适的导师。

为什么是120天?

想要在现在这样快速变化的环境下生存并发展壮大,公司必须反应敏捷、快速行动。这就是为什么我们以精益创业(Lean Startup)为首要原则要求我们的初创团队设立公司并发布产品。在120天里,有想法、有能力的团队能够快速建立产品原型、开展市场测试,并在发布产品前迅速根据市场反馈做出改变。快速的步调和灵敏度是初创企业能够颠覆行业的关键因素之一。

你们会帮我招募人才吗?

不会。但是我们会协助介绍潜在的候选人。我们在中国和国际上有强大的关系网络。我们充分认识到一个积极的团队氛围对初创团队来说有多么重要,但也明白不管公司成长到多大规模,这都将是一个持续性的挑战。我们的首要任务就是让你拥有吸引人才,留住人才的条件。你也会从我们的导师那里学到很多这方面的成功和失败经验。

你们会有让我们制作产品原型的厨房吗?

是的,我们有一个实验厨房。

你们的创客工坊里面会有什么设备呢?

你将可以使用我们的创客工坊,其中的设备还没有决定。

你们有没有渠道可以让我测试我们的产品?

可能会有。我们能够进入中国主要城市的线上线下零售渠道。我们也在全世界食品行业有很多合作伙伴会提供进入市场的机会。但我们会根据不同公司的产品需求来评估、搭配最合适的渠道。

Home

Manifesto

Program

About us

Mentors

Apply

EN  /  

Manifesto Program About us Mentors Apply
EN

FAQ

PROGRAM APPLICATION BASICS

What types of startups are best suited for the Bits x Bites Accelerator?

Food technology startups that leverage foundational technologies in hardware, software, internet, biotech. We are also interested in consumer packaged good startups. For a list of types of food technology startups existing today, click here. Keep in mind that these are simply the known types of startups today, we are excited for the many yet unknown types to emerge in the near future.

What stage of startups are you looking for?

We accept startups as early as when it’s just a few friends and a great idea. We also accept startups that have been operating for a few years and are looking for a new spark.

How many teams will be selected?

Approximately 5.

When is the program?

Our accelerator has two cohorts per year, with the first batch starting on February 20, 2017 and ending with a Demo Day in late-June 2017.

Where does the program take place?

Shanghai, China

My startup is not based in Shanghai. Can I still apply?

Yes, we encourage teams from all backgrounds and nationalities to apply. You are not required to but we strongly encourage you to re-locate your core team to Shanghai for the duration of the program. Besides the importance of weekly office hours with your assigned coach, you benefit from the vibrant community of entrepreneurs, experts, and friends here. You are responsible for arranging your own visas (often required for foreigners) but we can connect you with the appropriate professional services.

What is your evaluation process?

Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis (so it's better to apply earlier). Only select teams will be invited for an in-person meeting or a video call. The final teams that are selected into the program will be announced a few weeks after the application period ends.

Will the information in my application be treated as confidential?

Your application is your marketing pitch to join the Bits x Bites Accelerator and therefore should only contain non-confidential information. Please do not submit any formal business plans, trade secrets, or proprietary information about your product. All information disclosed to us in your application will be considered non-confidential public information. Bits x Bites will only treat information as confidential if the information is covered by a formal, written confidentiality agreement signed by us prior to disclosure.

Does Bits x Bites own the intellectual property developed by my company during the Bits x Bites Accelerator program?

No. Intellectual property developed by your startup is retained by your startup.

How do I apply?

Please click here.

PROGRAM DETAILS

Do you provide funding? What are your terms?

Yes, we provide a so called “1+1” funding mechanism. You will receive a funding round upon being admitted to the program, and another funding round on Demo Day on the condition that you successfully pitch other investors.

The 1+1 funding will not exceed 15% ownership of your company.

Do you provide living expenses?

No. We do not provide a separate stipend for living expenses.

What language is used during the course of the program?

Both English and Mandarin.

Do I need to compensate the mentors separately?

No. Mentors are passionate about food technology, and they want to make an impact and help others to do the same. But they’re also busy people with fast growing startups to run, breakthrough research to focus on, or multinational brands to manage. If you find that mentors are delivering real value over the duration of the program, you may find it in your best interest to engage with them in a formal, sometimes monetary, way during or after the program. We’ll make the introductions, but these decisions are between you and mentors.

How are startups and mentors matched?

In a personalized way. We spend a lot of time getting to know our roster of mentors, which allows us to understand their work, expertise, and passions. We also spend a lot of time getting to know you. Mentors have tremendous potential value to startups, and a good match for both sides goes a long way in realizing that potential. Because of varying needs and availability, we will make several suggested matches.

Why 120 days?

To survive and thrive in today’s fast-paced environment, companies must move fast and stay nimble in changing market realities. That’s why our program champions lean startup principles to starting a company and launching a new product. In 120 days, capable teams with raw ideas can quickly build prototypes, test the market, and make the necessary changes before launching a new company or product. This pace and flexibility is one important factor that has enabled startups to disrupt traditional companies in which new products could take years to develop.

Will you help me recruit?

No, but we will make introductions to potential key hires. We have a strong network across China and even international markets. We recognize having the right team dynamics is critical to a startup’s success and can remain a tough challenge no matter how big you grow. Our priority is to equip you with the tools to attract and retain the talent most suited for your team. You will also learn tremendously from the successes and failures from our mentors’ own experiences.

Will there be a kitchen available for prototyping?

Yes, you have access to a kitchen lab.

What equipment do you have in the maker shop?

You will have free access to an onsite maker shop. The equipment list is TBD.

Will you have a channel for me to test my product?

Probably. We do access to online and offline retail channels in major cities in China. We also have many partners in food systems across the world that we can tap into. We will have to assess, case-by-case, based on your specific product and its most appropriate channels.

Home

Manifesto

Program

About us

Mentors

Apply

EN  /  

Manifesto Program About us Mentors Apply
EN